The weight of motherhood

10312898_10152425203335180_7221124297396251135_n

10 is the number of weight gain after I become a Mom, but 10 is just the additional number on my scales, the weight of motherhood is much bigger than number 10, is the lying 8 , is infinite ∞.

Before holding you child, while you plan to have one and/or you’re pregnant you read a lot about motherhood, about how to raise a happy child, how to be a good parent and keep constantly plan the way you want to raise your own baby. After your child is born, thing might not turn out to be as easy as you planned.

Whether you are a stay-at-home or working mom, being a mother can be one of the most difficult things that you have ever done. To me, motherhood is a test of endurance, test of putting some extra weight in your shoulders and keeps walking with head up high like a free bird. Motherhood is being strong, very strong, ready to fight with everyone and everything that you think can be harmful for your child, no matter how weak and torn apart you feel inside.. Motherhood is being able to be a professional employee working at least 8 hours per day; being a careful and always available friend; being your parent’s pride; being a housewife who cooks great, delicious and healthy food; being someone who keeps her house clean and fixed. Motherhood is about always looking good and pretty for your in-laws, looking attractive for your husband, and as most importantly is about being a loving mother, who takes care about her child, dresses him, feeds him, teaches him, never screams at him and loves him unconditionally.

I consider myself a strong woman, a solid mother and I love my job of motherhood and cherish the time I get to spend with my little angelic daughter Bora. My struggle is not about being a part of motherhood sorority. My struggle is more about finding the time to connect with myself outside of my role as “mom.” As moms, we give so much of ourselves to our children and everyone else around, but expect so little in return. This is the weight of motherhood I keep everyday on my shoulders, not 10 kg more, this is my struggle being able to fit the perfect fit between myself and my role as a mother.

Lately, however, I’m realizing that it’s time for me to be more than a mom, to remember that the more of myself I keep, the happier I will be for my family. If we don’t look after ourselves physically, mentally, and emotionally, then there is very little left to give. So once a week I take ‘3 hours off’ of my role as a motherhood and do something for myself (go out for a drink, read a book, go shopping, or just listening to the music and doing nothing). But those 3 hours are the hours I miss the most my little angel, her absence from my world in those three hours gives me sadness, and I am reminded how proud and happy I am to be a mother, to be her mother. My love for Bora knows no limit. There’s nothing as powerful as a mother’s love and nothing as healing as a child’s soul. I’m blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

