Mompreneurs

Mompreneur-stress

This article won’t be easy to write (from me the one who promoted herself as feminist), and won’t be easy to read neither, at least to be read from women who believe and fight for equality, because in this article I won’t be protecting females, I won’t be promoting them, in fact just the contrary.

For a month now, I’ve been extremely busy with my work, I’ve been working 14-16 hours per day, and like this isn’t enough my mother in law had an operation so every single day after I finished my job I had to go there and clean, cook, do the laundry, ironing and similar – everyday’s women job.. and that’s not it, because I had to do the very same things in my apartment too. I’ve been so busy and tired that I didn’t have time for myself, my husband, and very sadly I didn’t had time for my child too. Its’ been almost a month and my child has gone crazy, my relationship with my husband has become good-morning –good-night type of relation, and I look terrible – gained wait and don’t look fresh.  And the only good news here is that my work got back to normal working hours, and my mother in law is getting better…

Last night when I went to sleep I thought –women can’t be equal to men, because we are built differently. No matter how much we try to be equal to them – we’re just built differently. The fact that they don’t give birth to children, means that their ties with their children is different, and no matter how hard someone will try to convince me otherwise I won’t agree, because I know that mother bond with their children is different from father’s bond (and I’m not saying they don’t love their children or that they don’t care about them).

Being a mother is what holds us back in this case, but trust me I’m OK with it. This month when I was seeing my child only 1 hour per day and she was literally going crazy I said f.. the job, and money and carrier, and everything else. If my child needs me and I’m not there I don’t need a carrier. I live for her, for her happiness.. I don’t want to buy her things, I want to build things together.. I want her to understand that money can’t buy everything, but I’m here for her always.

Business world is for males, it’s for people who are more logical and less emotional. I’m sorry women, but you can’t be both: a very successful business leader and happy, loving and devoting mother. You simply can’t be both. I’m not saying you should choose one of them, you can still work and be a mother, you can still be a leader and a mother, however you can’t be perfect at both of them. If you working late hours and you know you child’s time to go to bed is near and you didn’t have time for him/her it kills you. When your child grows he will move ahead without turning back to see you and ask for your needs just like you did it once, because you taught him so.. Unconsciously you taught him to run after carrier and never look back for people who might need them. Let us define our roles in this world.. Let the men do the leading in the business and let women lead the house. We would have more happy families, more happy children, and more happy elderlies.

You don’t have to agree with me, all you have to do, is to define you priorities clearly. I did chose mine and I’m so happy about it!

5 thoughts on “Mompreneurs

    1. Honestly, until this month I never thought this way either.. I always believed us (women) are so strong we can handle both, but seeing my child missing me and being unable to find a solution, because none of the substitutes (her father, grandmother and so on) were good enough for her I started to think differently.

      Being a woman in a man’s world, fighting like a man, working like a man you can’t be a devoting mother – you simply can’t – because working so hard is time consuming, energy consuming and unfortunately you wont have anything left for you child

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I stayed home with our son until he started school, so I knew how he played and learned daily. Then I went back to teaching before our daughter turned two with doubts and regrets (don’t most working moms?). It’s been difficult not to self-blame as I’ve seen her stumble, re-boot, and try again and again. “Did I cause her to falter, cast my own feelings on her, or cause her to have angst, to know less than she needed to know?”But with my son’s fatal car crash at seventeen (and I did not cause it) wisdom came to help me…What If we’re all on our own paths and there is a bigger plan so that as a parent I can’t accept too much credit OR too much blame for what my children are about? Maybe I can be less hard on myself and find where my joy is … maybe my children see that and follow.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Indeed Phyllis.. I totally agree at this point.. We shouldn’t be blamed nor get credits for our children’s action, but yet it depends on us, the way we teach them and WHAT we teach them, what they will become one day, what paths they will choose in their lives. E.g. I was raised in a happy family where love and respect prevailed, and for me always love, respect and happiness are the most important things in life. I literally can’t believe it is possible to live in sadness (I’m not saying I’m never sad don’t get me wrong).. But for my husband who was raised in a different family with different priorities, happiness and love of course are very important things but not the MOST as it is to me.. To him being successful, achieving something great, being proud of him as a father and husband is the most important thing. So that’s what I mean when I say it is on us how our children are grown, decision they take, paths they choose, because no matter that we are not part of their everyday life they decision will be based on what we taught them is right or wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, I absolutely concur that as parents we are responsible for loving, nurturing, guiding, supporting, teaching. And there is more balance in the family dynamics in an ideal world when one parent can take the “homefront” role and the other can be the provider-protector. Maybe children feel safer and more loved and more clear. I lived by this credo for many years, and then…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

